DONAIRE Mandatory defense draws near

24/10/2008

DONAIRE Mandatory defense draws near

Press Release: LAS VEGAS, NEV ( October 23, 2008) -- International Boxing Federation (IBF) world flyweight champion NONITO 'The Filipino Flash" DONAIRE and Hall or Fame promoter Bob Arum, will host an international Media Conference Call Today!  Thursday, October 23, beginning at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT, to discuss Donaire's upcoming world title defense against No. 1 contender and mandatory challenger Moruti Mthalane.  Donaire, a native of General Santos City, Philippines, who resides in San Leandro, Calif., will be making his debut with new promoter Top Rank on "Final Impact" -- the five-bout pay-per-view extravaganza broadcast live from Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, Saturday, November 1, beginning at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT. 

        Donaire has made no bones that Mthalane is his immediate priority but that Jorge Arce is his ultimate target.  Arce will also be featured on "Final Impact" in a 12-round super flyweight bout against Isidro Garcia.  The co-main event will be the rematch between undefeated top-10 super welterweight contender Julio Cesar Chavez Jr.  and Matt Vanda. The pay-per-view broadcast will also feature the professional debut of two-time World Amateur middleweight champion and Russian Olympian Matt Korobov.