Cotto receives award from Fox Sports!


Cotto receives award from Fox Sports!

PRESS RELEASE: Boxing Superstar Miguel Cotto was named Outstanding Boxer of the Year on Monday night during the third annual “Premios Fox Sports” show that took place Monday and honors the top Latin American world athletes. Cotto of Caguas, Puerto Rico is the current WBO junior welterweight champion of the world and he is considered the best amateur boxer in the history of Puerto Rico. He won the WBO world title on September 11, 2004 with an explosive sixth round TKO victory over his former amateur nemesis Kelson Pinto of Brazil.

Cotto has successfully defended his title on four occasions, against former world champions Randall Bailey and DeMarcus Corley, former Olympic gold medalists Mohamad  Abdulaev and most recently against the number one ranked challenger  Ricardo Torres of Colombia, the last three championship bouts coming this year.

Cotto, 25, is currently the most popular boxer in Puerto Rico, he is promoted by Top Rank Ink and has a professional record of  25-0 with 21 KOs.

The other nominees along with Cotto where Erik Morales, Diego Corrales, Marco Antonio Barrera and Juan Manuel Marquez. The past two winners have being Morales (2003) and Barrera (2004).

“I am very happy and humble to receive this award. I have always trained to do my best and awards like this serve to motivate me to continue to improve and do even better. It is a pleasure for me to represent Puerto Rico and will always carry its flag with pride and honor,” said Cotto after receiving the award.

The 3rd Annual “Premios Fox Sports” presented by DHL brings together sports and mainstream celebrities to honor the contributions and achievements of Latino athletes and personalities from a variety of sports, including soccer, basketball, motor sports, tennis and boxing. Winners in 13 categories were voted on exclusively by fans and were presented with a beautiful glass trophy in Miami, alongside recipients of several special recognitions.

The official 3rd Annual Premios Fox Sports presented by DHL awards ceremony was held at the Jackie Gleason Theater of Performing Arts in Miami Beach, Florida. The show will be televised on January 8, 2006 in the United States on Fox Sports en Español and throughout the Spanish-speaking Americas on Fox Sports Latin America.