Boxingtalk presents its year-end awards for 2008

By Team Boxingtalk


Boxingtalk presents its year-end awards for 2008

Boxingtalk Year End Awards:

Boxer Of The Year: Manny Pacquiao
Runner Up: Joe Calzaghe
Honorable Mentions: Juan Manuel Marquez, Nate Campbell, Bernard Hopkins, Vic Darchinyan, Israel Vazquez

Fight Of The Year: Israel Vazquez-Rafael Marquez III
Runner Up: Antonio Margarito-Miguel Cotto
Honorable Mentions: Rogers Mtgawa-Tomas Villa, Kendall Holt-Ricardo Torres II, Tomas Adamek-Steve Cunningham, Manny Pacquiao-Juan Manuel Marquez II, Joel Casamayor-Michael Katsidis

Trainer Of The Year: Freddie Roach
Runner Up: Enzo Calzaghe
Honorable Mention: John David Jackson

Upset Of The Year: Carlos Quintana-Paul Williams I
Runner Up: Sergio Mora-Vernon Forrest I
Honorable Mention: Verno Phillips-Cory Spinks, Breidis Prescott-Amir Khan, Monte Barrett-Tye Fields, Raul Marquez-Giovanni Lorenzo

Knockout Of The Year: Edison Miranda-Johnathan Banks
Runner Up: Shane Mosley-Ricardo Mayorga
Honorable Mentions: Vic Darchinyan-Christian Mijares, Paul Williams-Carlos Quintana II, David Haye-Enzo Maccarinelli, Denkaosen Kaowichit-Takefumi Sakata II, Arthur Abraham- Elvin Ayala

Round Of The Year: Vazquez-Marquez Round 12
Runner Up: Kendall Holt-Ricardo Torres II Round 1
Honorable Meniton: Tomas Adamek-Steve Cunningham Round 4

Prospect Of The Year: Daniel Jacobs
Runner Up: Victor Ortiz
Honorable Mentions: Fernando Guerrero, Breidis Prescott *Editors Note* Last year's winner, Devon Alexander is 21 years old with 17 wins in 17 fights, was not considered due to his status as mandatory contender for the WBC.

Worst Decision: James Toney-Fres Oquendo  
Runner Up: Nikolay Valuev-Evander Holyfield
Honoroable Mention: Humberto Soto-Fernando Lorenzo I, Chad Dawson-Glen Johnson

Comeback Of The Year: Vitali Klitschko
Runner Up: Evander Holyfield